Fifth dental therapy graduating class honored

DT award

School of Dentistry celebrates fifth dental therapy graduating class

The School of Dentistry celebrated with members of its fifth class of dental therapy graduates at a Senior Banquet held in their honor at the Campus Club on Thursday, December 3, 2015. More than 80 students, guests, faculty and staff were on-hand to congratulate dental therapy graduates Scott Danzl, Megan Guthmiller, Ashley Mayry, Katie Lynne Olson, Kassie Scott, and Lucky Vang.

A highlight of the event was the awarding of the first annual Karl Self Dental Therapy Student Achievement Award to Megan Guthmiller. Created by the University of Minnesota School of Dentistry Alumni Society (SODAS), the award honors senior dental therapy students for leadership, scholarship and personal character, characteristics embodied by School of Dentistry alumnus Karl Self, DDS, MBA, director of the Division of Dental Therapy. The award was presented by SODAS President Mary Pariseau, DDS. In May, SODAS will recognize the outstanding accomplishments of graduates of the school's dental and dental hygiene classes when it awards the annual Mellor Dental Student Achievement Award and the Kathleen Newell Dental Hygiene Student Achievement Award.