Distinguished Alumni Awards

2020 Alumni Award Winners

Distinguished Dental Alumni Award
Patricia Angela Rake, DDS '97

Rake is a diplomat with the American Board of Oral and Maxillofacial Surgeons and is a member of the Association of Oral and Maxillofacial Surgeons, the American Dental Association, and the Minnesota Dental Association. She is an avid fundraiser, biking to raise money for the Women's Foundation of Minnesota. She has served as a motivational speaker and leadership trainer. She is passionate about using safe practices in anesthesia and raising awareness regarding responsible prescribing of opioids.


Distinguished Dental Hygiene Alumni Award
Lesley Tuomi, RDH, BSDH '09

Tuomi works at NorthPoint Health and Wellness Center, a multi-specialty health center located in North Minneapolis. In her work, Tuomi focuses on serving pregnant women and children from birth to age five, spending her time seeking out grant funding to promote dental health in the North Minneapolis community. She's passionate about reaching out to schools for health screenings and follow-up care, serving patients at community events in her spare time, and finding care for patients whether her clinic is able to see them or not.

About the Awards

The Distinguished Dental and Dental Hygiene Alumni Awards are honors given annually to outstanding alumni in recognition of exceptional achievement. Candidates must be a graduate of any program of the University of Minnesota School of Dentistry and are judged based on their participation, service, and leadership in the advancement of dentistry and dental health, their public service, community service, and/or civic affairs, and their dedication to continuing education.

The School of Dentistry Alumni Society Honors Task Force will review all candidates and will select the recipients for 2021, who will be presented with the award at the School of Dentistry Alumni Weekend, Fall 2022.

Nominations made within the last five years are considered active and will be considered for the 2021 awards. If you have nominated someone in the past five years and want to provide additional information, please contact the Alumni Office.


If you have any questions, please contact Erin Elliott at 952-200-1413 or [email protected].

Previous recipients

Previous Award Recipients (download)