Heather Conrad named Chair of Department of Restorative Sciences

Headshot of Heather Conrad

Heather J. Conrad, DMD, MS, FACP, FRCD(C), associate professor of prosthodontics, has been named the Chair of the Department of Restorative Sciences effective January 1, 2024.

Conrad accepts this role, having served as Interim Chair of Restorative Sciences since August 2018. Currently an associate professor in the Division of Prosthodontics, Conrad joined the University of Minnesota School of Dentistry faculty in 2006 and served as program director for the Advanced Education Program in Prosthodontics from 2012-2021. Her contributions to the School of Dentistry include a robust teaching portfolio ranging from dental preparatory courses, to predoctoral, graduate programs and continuing dental education, a commitment to research and an extensive record of research to the School of Dentistry and academic dentistry.

Conrad was awarded her Doctor of Dental Medicine with Distinction from the University of Saskatchewan and her Certificate in Prosthodontics and Master of Science from the University of Minnesota. Conrad received the 2015 American College of Prosthodontists Educator of the Year award and became a Fellow of the American Dental Education Association (ADEA) Leadership Institute in 2016. Within ADEA, Conrad served in a variety of roles, including Officer for the Section on Prosthodontics, Board Member with the Council of Advanced Education Programs, Director representing Advanced Education Programs on the Board of Directors, and Member of the Annual Session Program Committee. In 2018, Conrad was elected to the Board of Directors of the American Board of Prosthodontics (ABP) and is currently the Vice-President and Secretary of the ABP. She serves as an advanced education site visitor with the Commission on Dental Accreditation.

“I look forward to Dr. Conrad’s continued contributions and invite you to join me in congratulating her in the role of Chair of the Department of Restorative Sciences,” said Dean Keith Mays, DDS, MS, PhD, in an announcement of the role to the School of Dentistry in October.